Testimonials

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I can't explain in words the service I received ... if I had to choose one word "exceptional" would be close enough. I went in looking for some pieces for my home in Colombia, pretty much clueless as to what style or even colors that I needed. All I knew is that I needed the items immediately. Milli was the associate who assisted me and in 10 minutes of explaining my space and showing pictures she had a buffet, 6 dining chairs and dining table picked out for me. It was seamless. It was colorful and fun, just the way I wanted. The pieces are well made and priced so well for such great quality. They had everything you could think of from outdoor furniture to art work. What really took me by surprise is that pieces could be customized... ANY way you want. 

I went shopping all over the design district and Biscayne and I am so excited I decided to stop in to ModShop. I will be placing more orders with them once my home is completely remodeled and I will be asking for Milli.

Sloan W.  I  Yelp - Miami, FL - 8/21/14

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Seriously, THIS IS IT!
Modshop has been a source for several of our projects (I own an Atlanta based interiors firm) and their knowledge of products and flexibility of customization have been nothing short of AWESOME! Shelby Baugus and the team at the Biscayne Bay store came to our rescue on a million dollar project on Hibiscus Island, helping us as out-of-town designers come up with full-custom pieces that worked flawlessly within the home. Our designs can be challenging and intricate, but Shelby and her staff were fearless in working with us to create some of the most glamorous and jaw-dropping pieces that we have ever created, all combined to land us a prime spot in published print and more to come!!!! What a way to help us out!! Love these guys, and absolutely adore their products!!!

From on site measuring to an endless array of options to custom drawings of each piece, Shelby and her team handled the entire process with a fun, casual attitude and proved a joy to work with. If you want to see what classic, mid-century-meets-art-deco Miami style, check these guys out. Furthermore, if you have an idea for a piece that's based on nothing more than a door style or piece of their hardware, sit down with them and allow your dream to be realized. Truly an amazing vendor and one who's new and fresh approach to furniture will keep us coming back again and again.

If you're a designer in the Miami (or anywhere else, for that matter!!) area, or if you just have a passion for incredible furniture and want to work with the folks that are on the edge of "the next great thing", then do not miss out on working with these guys!!!!!

Robert W.  I  Yelp - Atlanta, GA - 8/19/2014

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I recently gut renovated my apartment in NYC and redecorated with high-end furniture.  I searched for months to find the right entertainment cabinet to go with the decor and found myself at the ModShop with my decorator (who has worked with this store in other locations before).  
First, the cabinet is beautiful!  It was very reasonable priced and fits in well with higher-priced items in the room.  The finish is high quality, and rivals furniture from Oly and comparable manufacturers.  
The service was really very good.  I worked with the manager directly, who was both professional and fun to work with.  And when the manager was unavailable, other staff at the store stepped up right away to make sure the order went through and followed up on production.  The piece was delivered within the time frame promised and delivery was white glove.

Jen K.  I  Yelp - 08/17/2014

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Our interior design firm has been working with ModShop (formerly Room Service Store) for years. They not only do amazing custom pieces while working around our insane lead times, but the customer service is fantastic. This team is personable, friendly, reliable, and always willing to help us out when we’re in a bind. Thanks to Whitney and the team for being our heroes on more than one occasion!

Beth B.  |  Yelp - Los Angeles, CA - 07/16/2014

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I can't say enough good things about this store! I have some seriously awesome pieces of furniture that I ordered here. I had to wait about 2 months for it to get delivered to me but I haven't seen anything like this elsewhere. My friend and her hubby bought their sofa here and I love it so I decided to come here  as well. The sisters helped me out and were very knowledgeable and guided me to the perfect fabric and style choices. I finally decided on a silvery velvet fabric- so cute and glam! I ended up ordering my media console at the same time and could not be happier with the products and the service I received. The girls there were so sweet and helpful, I really felt like I got a whole design for my space, not just furniture. I've since gone back and purchased nick nacks and a piece of art. I'm hooked!

Kristy Z.  |  Yelp - Los Angeles, CA 03/21/2014

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I felt compelled to write this review because of the compliments I keep receiving from old and new friends.

I walked into ModShop a couple weeks ago because I needed a couch and didn't trust one of those "going out of business sale" places that never seem to go out of business. I was surprised at the selection and saw this sectional that reminded me of my recent visit to the Hard Rock hotel in Vegas. This was good and bad news because my place desperately needed a makeover, but my main goal was only to get a couch... If you hadn't guessed, I walked out with more than just a couch...   I ended up purchasing a granite velvet sectional and some funky cool side tables and lamps. I'm not gonna lie... some of the staff did help me match my side tables to my Hard Rock hotel inspired look.  The quality is a heck of a lot better than the Ikea it replaced and wayyyyy better looking.

I should give it 4 stars because of all the work its given me...because honestly, I didn't plan on remodeling my place when I walked in the store, but I can’t say I’m not reaping any benefits of having a more "adult" looking place.I plan to go back next month and grab a few more things on my list, starting with a coffee table and some more accent pieces.   

Garrett L.  |  Yelp - 03/05/2014     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

We purchased the x leg white lacquer dining table with goldfinger chairs for our dining room.  Upon delivery the set looked fabulous in our dining room, very sleek and modern.   

We had a small issue with our dining table, which ModShop picked up and repaired.  They also suggested we get a protective glass top for our table, which I was hesitant to do with two young boys in our house, but decided it was best to do to keep the table in good condition.  I was worried the glass edge may be sharp, or could easily slip of the table, but it was neither.  The glass top is affixed to the table, and the edges are beveled, the table looks better with the glass than without it!  I would highly recommend the glass top if you are considering purchasing one of their dining tables, it has a very high-end look to it.    We are very pleased with the customer service at ModShop and Modshop’s responsiveness to repairing the small issue with our table.  

If you're looking for quality modern furniture I would highly recommend ModShop.

Natalie B.  |  Yelp - 03/20/2014     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

This is an amazing place to shop for custom furniture.  Pretty much everything they carry here is gorgeous!  I love that they even have a kid's section with trendy pieces.  If you're looking for mod style egg chairs, or pod chairs etc., then this is definitely the place to start.  Their selection of unique, glossy desks is just incredible!!  I love the colorful and hip selection of throw pillows they carry; there is literally nothing in this store I don't like!!

I have never had a bad experience here and all the salespeople have been totally friendly.  Even though it's a bit of a drive for me, I love to stop in any time I'm in the L.A. area.  It is totally worth the trip down here.  Give them a try -- you won't be disappointed!!

Kelli M.  |  Yelp - 03/16/2014     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

This store is awesome! Both unique and timeless! I recently stumbled upon ModShop while shopping for something completely different and it just so happens I was in need of a new coffee table. I found exactly what I was looking for, a solid walnut coffee table that would mesh well with my furniture. The Salesman Dallas was very friendly and he answered all of my questions without thought. He definitely had knowledge on the product, which made my decision to purchase even more valid. It was a little over my budget but I don't regret it! Best piece of furniture in my apartment!

R M.  |  Yelp - 02/13/2014     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

I received my custom made sofa and am thrilled with it. It was ready within the 12 week time frame and was exactly what I ordered. Only glitch was that I was supposed to receive a photo of the finished product before it shipped, but as the salesperson who had helped me had left the company, that was quickly rectified by Dallas when I called to inquire about it.  I have found Dallas to be super helpful and the delivery company was amazing. I will definitely be buying from them again!

Lucy R.  |  Yelp - 02/11/2014     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I stumbled onto this shop when walking back to my apartment from Union Square.  It's tucked away, but and exciting find!  What caught my eye were these two giant green wingback chairs in the window that had classic construction but tie-dyed-like green woodgrain fabric on them.  They had to be mine!  That was when I fell in love with ModShop.  Mid century modern is my jam - but I also love traditional lines.  This was the perfect store for me.  Since that love at first sight, I write this review sitting in my 2 green wingback chairs - across the room from the custom sofa I had them make for me.  The customer service is great.  Festa really went above and beyond, even helping me weigh the pros and cons of having pillows made by them or by my own vendor.  Since purchasing my own furniture there, I've started to take clients in that were looking for pieces of furniture that were fun and functional, but very well-built at the same time.  And their inventory is ever shifting, so I try to stop in frequently to see what's new and to get inspired!  Enjoy this gem!

PJ C.  |  Yelp - 02/10/2014

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I received my custom Hollywood Sectional today.  It's gorgeous and the upholstery is very well done.  I purchase many custom furniture pieces in my business and I haven't seen furniture with this much style and detail for a very good price.  The customer service from the New York Store was excellent.  I will definitely keep ModShop on my list of vendors.

Joan G.  |  Yelp - 02/05/2014     

 __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Great quality and creativity! ModShop has some of the best furniture and accessories out there. It's crazy to see bad reviews cause I had such a great experience throughout the entire process. The store was beautiful and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely purchase from ModShop again in the future and would highly recommend their furniture.

Amanda M.  |  Yelp - 02/05/2014  

 __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I wanted to send you a very late email to let you know how impressed I was with the customer service that I received from your employee Whitney before the holidays.  I had a very negative experience in the San Francisco store with poor customer service, and it reinstated my faith in your company to work with Whitney. She was cheerful, helpful and went out of her way to assist me with a purchase that was not readily available in the SF store.

Thanks for hiring top notch sales assistants.

Huldah C.  |  San Francisco, CA - 01/12/2014     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Re: Lisa Stenmark / ModShop Los Angeles  

My name is Jeff I., and my wife and I recently purchased two custom made couches and a sectional from your company store in Los Angeles. First and foremost, we are happy to report that the furniture and craftsmanship far exceeded our expectations. To say that your products are "perfect" would be an understatement. On that note, I wanted to also acknowledge our sales associate Ms. Lisa Stenmark for getting us the desired results we were looking for.  

Since my wife and I were "first-timers" in ordering custom made furniture, we had a hard time figuring out how to start the process. These fears dissipated once we met Lisa in your LA showroom. She did a fantastic job walking us through the steps needed to create the perfect furniture for our new house. She not only gave us sound advice, but also spent a significant amount of time assisting us with the ever-important details: tufts, nail heads, color choice, fabric, couch dimensions, couch-legs, and let's not forget cushion and pillow support. Moreover, we were very impressed with Lisa's professionalism and diligence both during and after delivery of our furniture; we just received our final sectional this afternoon. Again, it was a "first" to have a sales associate call us on her day off to make sure that the delivery was on time and that we were happy with the final product. Lisa is now working with us on custom chairs, rugs and other accessories for our new house. Yes, we are excited to continue working with your company and yes, we can't wait to see what Lisa comes up with next!!!

Thank you for living up to your stellar reputation and for employing such competent and intelligent sales associates that have a true passion for what they do.

Jeff I.  |   Los Angeles, CA - 11/20/2013     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Subject: Thank You  

As promised, here are a couple of photos of your product during the install. Thank you for your help making this happen. I look forward to working with you again. I'll also keep you in mind for moving people. If I hear of anyone I'll send them your way. <ahref="http://www.hickorychairpearson.com/"target="1">www.hickorychairpearson.com</a>  Thanks again

Mark S.  |  Yelp - 11/14/2013     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I am a designer and have had nothing but fulfilled promises and gorgeous furniture delivered not only on time but ahead of schedule.  I know they are only a year old in the city, but if there were any kinks before, they have been 100% worked out now.  Dallas and Festa know their product inside and out and always come through in a pinch for me.  I will ALWAYS do business with them and I stand by their establishment as a professional in this business!  Not to mention they have the most GORGEOUS pieces on earth!   

Robin L.  |  Yelp - 10/24/2013   

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Just wanted to send my “Thank you” to Shelby and the designers at Modshop. They were patient with us as we purchased our piece too early before closing on our home. Although it was ready weeks before moving in, Shelby was really of wonderful assistance. Thank you.

Vashtie F.  | Yelp - Miami, FL - 10/17/2013

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I do not understand what these people are saying. Not only have I bought things for clients but I have purchased things for my home as well. EVERYTHING came in exactly as ordered, within a few days of quoted delivery and is beyond gorgeous and perfect!!! Festa and Dallas are both helpful and attentive and I continue to be a loyal customer.     

Mindee G.  |  Yelp - 10/15/2013     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

My name is Maureen Blackburn and I ordered a house full of pieces in January.  Festa is the one that orchestrated it all and I have to tell someone how wonderful she is!  She has had the patience of a complete saint and has dealt with me with nothing but compassion and grace.  She helped me pick out everything and even though it took a long time it was so worth the wait.  I've had a few glitches with shipping but overall it went very smooth thanks to Festa.  I am going to miss talking and emailing with her and I will probably have to check in on her from time to time because I feel I have made a friend.  I hope maybe someday I can meet her.  I will be purchasing all my furniture though Mod Shop.  I live in Connecticut and the furniture here is a bore!   Again, I can't thank Festa and Mod Shop enough!!   

Maureen Blackburn  |  06/08/2013     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

My wife and I were really excited to learn that they had opened a showroom in NYC after my sister furnished her apartment from their L.A. showroom.  We went into the showroom here and had a great experience.  We ordered a couch that they customized to meet our needs - height, extra stuffing in places, and even made in two separate pieces so it could in our elevator.  It was delivered within the time period quoted and looks great.  We worked with Festa in the store and would recommend her to anyone who has had problems with other salespeople.  She was totally responsive and on top of our order.   

Richard R.  |  Yelp - 03/07/2013     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Just a quick note to you. The sofa/loveseat (Beverly Hills Loveseat) was delivered last week, and it is gorgeous. I got so many complements... comfortable, sturdy, high quality and beautiful. I love it!!!  The color is awesome, it can match any decor. Thanks so much for all you did; you were awesome. Please pass along to your management team!!   

Pamela A.  |  03/05/2013     

 __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Thank you for following up. Everything arrived beautifully and the chairs are well loved!  Thank you for all your help!     

Rachel M.  |  02/20/2013     

 __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ABSOLUTELY LOVE Room Service! It's a design wonderland full of beautiful pieces. Whitney and Kelsey are super friendly and helpful! Although I only purchased a couple pillows, they took the time to throw around some design ideas. Will be back for the Bel-Air bed!!   

Tori F.  |  Yelp - 01/13/2013     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

We got our beautiful sofa!  It's even more beautiful than the picture.........and it"s very comfortable!  We are so happy.  Thank you so much!  Happy Holidays to you.

Jean Rust  |  12/10/2012

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________   

Hi Heather, I just wanted to let you know they delivered the table yesterday and it looks great!  It fits our space perfectly!  I also wanted to let you know the gentleman that delivered the table was very courteous and helpful.  Please pass this along to the owner.   Thanks for taking care of us.   

Michelle Rue-Efstratis  |  1/18/2012     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I live in New York and was in the market for a unique credenza.  After searching on the Internet I came upon RoomService and saw a pic of the Brixton Credenza.   I called and spoke with Festa.  She sent me samples of a few different finishes I might choose.  Although I was nervous about ordering without seeing in person I decided to take a chance and go ahead. 

Two reasons for this:

1- They were able to customize the dimensions precisely to my space!

2- Price for a custom piece was very fair. Festa & Heather helped me and were very precise about dimensions, cutouts for cable wires, etc.

Six or seven weeks later I was notified piece was ready.  Came in perfect condition and the delivery guys were great, very professional. The only little glitch was that the iinside shelves were the wrong ones and did not fit the unit.  This was rectified very quickly and the new ones were made and shipped in no time to me.  I love the quality of my new credenza and so far everyone who has seen it has said WOW!  Although I took a chance ordering from a picture, it really paid off for me.  I have seen nothing like their stuff here on the East Coast!  Couldn't be happier with this shopping experience.  Cant wait to order my next piece.  I have my eye on a very cool desk!   

Arlene L.  |  Brooklyn, New York - 09/12/2012

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Run do not walk directly to ModShop !! Best place ever for that cool mid century look at a fair price. Exceptional service, shout out to my girls Shelby and Kelsey, and Whitney !!!  I ordered a hot pink sectional with Lucite legs that is my wow factor to my home. It was exactly what I ordered and yes it was custom so the 6-8 weeks time is to be expected but very very worth the wait. I have a new home full of new furniture and unfortunately I went elsewhere to a small unknown vendor that I am now entering a lawsuit against for toxic furniture and changes signed invoices.     

Kely K. | Yelp - 09/12/2012     

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Needed legs shortened on an ottoman due to a difference in carpet height; this a year after purchase. They bent over backwards to get the job done, no questions asked. Love this place!!      Alan S. | Yelp - 08/30/2012      Subject: Thank You   Hi Festa: Hope you are doing fine, I got the furniture and I just wanted to say, I absolutely love it. It looks so good in my house and just wanted to thank you for all your hard work. It just made my day. Anyhow once again thank you so much and I will be in touch because I want to come in for ordering a dining room set and living room furniture and few consoles. But I need your help and your opinion on all of it. It will be in probably November or sooner.

Have a wonderful night. Best regards,

Sanaz Sanaz Ahrabian |  08/30/2012   

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Subject: A BEAUTY FROM EVERY ANGLE Thank you so much for our sofa. We are very happy with the result.

Please Susan  |  08/08/2012

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

I hope everything is going well out on the west coast. First things first, everyone LOVES the lounge furniture in the restaurant. Secondly, a button cover fell off of one of the buttons on one of the benches. If we can have a button cover sent to us that would be great! Finally, the owner of the restaurant that we just completed loves it so much that we are being brought on to more projects there, including transforming the inside bar in to a lounge so please stay tuned we will be contacting you again to have more furniture made! Thanks for everything! Morgan - Mara Style, LLC. | New York City - 04/24/2012 I received the couch today @ 2:30 pm.  I would like to thank you for orchestrating a conversational piece in living color.  This impeccable Hollywood tufted sofa exceeded my expectations! Great dimensions to suit my needs, overall simply functional and stunning.  Have a great day.

Susan Yap | 03/10/2012

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Do you hate Ikea? Then this is a great place for you to come and find some unique modern furniture at reasonable prices

We came here after purchasing a deal off Living Social(a love/hate relationship).  We browsed through their website online and went on fine Saturday afternoon.  It's two stories full of goods to turn your house/apt/shack/room into a home. We ended up with a a beautiful wood and metal lantern, a hand glass-blown vase, 3 red ceramic, see, hear, speak no evil monkeys (our favorite piece), and a small orange vase to fill our quota of $200 to get $100 off from the living social deal. We ended up paying $.11! Can't wait for their new season of merchandise to come in since we have one more deal to use! Excited to see what new pieces they'll have in store! The space is big and open.  The people there are friendly and helpful.  Overall, a very good experience.

Jennifer L. | Yelp - 02/21/2012

 __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Buying furniture--especially when you're trying to furnish an entire room--can be incredibly stressful. And furniture stores and dealers are notorious for defaulting on their agreements and failing to come through with what they promise (as I've found here in LA, unfortunately, even at some of the more upscale locations). But our experience at ModShop has been fantastic in terms of customer service

Monica O. | Yelp - 12/05/2011

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ModShop is the best gem in Los Angeles. LOVE this furniture store. It's very trendy and a bit edgy. I bought bunch of accessories, a Roosevelt bed, a Mondrian dresser &amp; a sexy chic sofa-sectional every piece is my favorite. I love showing it off to friends who come over and everyone comments how beautiful and cool it is.

The showroom staff was fresh, attentive and creative. I was very impressed with the in house interior gurus, they helped me in deciding how and what I needed for my home. I also love how they keep everything for the home in stock from vases to linens. I have been furnishing my LA home for a few years now and cant tell you enough how happy I am that I found this place. The sectional I bought which was a great experience start to finish. I was able to customize aspects of the sofa, which allowed me to get creative and feel part of the final product. I love that they can make anything for you and exactly how you want it.  And let me say the service was A+.

Please ignore the nonsense posts about the horrible service. I personally had a great experience on each of the occasions I went to the store. Also when I called to check up on an order I placed, the lady I spoke to was very helpful, and also ModShop has high quality furniture and its worth the price. I've had my furniture for 3 years and still looks and feels new so I cant understand any of these negative reviews. Pfffffffffffff. I wouldn't purchase anything from here if it wasn't high-end quality. I'm really picky when it comes to my food, fashion and ESP furniture so I know good quality when I see it.  I only shop at high-end places- posh hotels, upscale restaurants and high-end designer boutiques and furniture stores, and this store is one of them! If the luxe life is your thing, cruise down to ModShop! loves loves AND LOVES!!

Rita A.  |  Yelp - 10/21/2011

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Love it!! This is our client that purchased here in SF, she was thrilled to find us and was so happy that we could ship to her in Florida!! She has followed us via the website and found us on Hayes Street while shopping with friends on a visit here to SF!!!  We do need to spread the word about the website!!!

Michele Grange Gaudino | Facebook - 08/09/2011

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Okay, first off...I'm a bit of a furniture junkie.  I lust for mid-centurey Scandinavian arm chairs the way some men drool over muscle cars.  Problem is, the arm chair can be just as expensive.  I recently bought a new home and was looking to furnish it with some modern pieces at a "reasonable price".  After having my spirit broken at the designer furniture stores on Beverly, I stumbled upon ModShop...ah sweet nirvana.  This place save my soul.  The pieces here are gorgeous.  Really original and they won't break your bank account.  They also have a great selection of vintage reproductions. Eames chairs, Saarinen tables, Sputnik lamps. All priced really well. And the owner, John, is one seriously awesome dude. He's extremely helpful and never pressures you to buy anything. I've picked up several things here and I try to stop in once a month to see the new stuff they're carrying. Yes, I have a problem. Perhaps I should find something to supplant my furniture addiction. Crack cocaine would probably be a cheaper alternative. But until then I'll continue shopping at ModShop. Without a doubt my favorite furniture store in the city.

David W. | Yelp - 03/15/2008